Brunch Frittata with Spinach and Hash Browns

I love brunch. I love eggs. I love bacon. I love toast.I love coffee.I am a big brunch food person. It can be anytime of the day and I will be happy to eat brunch food. You can imagine why I like IHOP very much indeed. This frittata is great for many reason. 1st of all it’s brunch food (so I am in with both knives) and 2nd of all it’s great to make when you have a lot of people coming over for brunch which is what happened last week to me. This frittata required 10 eggs but was also enough for everyone at the table. Obviously I cheated and used frozen hash browns instead of cooking the potatoes myself. We pick and choose our own battles.

Ingredients: 10 eggs, 8 frozen hash brown patties, 1 cup shredded gruyere cheese (get only this kind), 1/4 cup of milk, a big bunch of fresh spinach,1/2 tablespoon butter, salt and pepper

Preheat the oven to 400. Begin by cooking the frozen patties. I threw mine in the oven for 15 minutes.Do not switch off the oven after.

When the hash browns are cooked, roughly chop them into small chunks

Lay the hash browns in a buttered lasagna pan. Next in a skillet on medium high heat add the butter and the spinach. Cook the spinach for 5 minutes. Add to the lasagna pan.

Next crack the eggs into a big bowl

Add salt, pepper and milk and whisk together. When the egg mixture is ready, pour it over the spinach and the hash browns. Add the shredded gruyere cheese.

Throw in the oven for 30-40 minutes or until the top crust browns.

Cut into squares and serve. Mornings have never tasted this good.

Leave a comment

Filed under Breakfast, Vegetarian

Leave a Reply

