Cream Cheese Mashed Potatoes

I am a big fan of mashed potatoes. And it is one of the only things that my mum never made in our house.Don’t get me wrong, my mum is a fantastic cook. She just has for some unknown reason a total distaste for potatoes. We never had any potatoes in our house. Blame it one the times, when she grew up in communist Russia with shortages of food and probably plenty of potatoes or on the high calorie count contained in potatoes, mashed potatoes was the one dish that I did not get much growing up.

I don’t remember how I came to this recipe but this one of my favorites. In fact on Thanksgiving,you did not have to give me the turkey. I couldn’t be happier with just a bowl of this heavenly side dish.

Ingredients: 4 Potatoes (red or golden), 1/2 cream (or milk), 2 tablespoons butter, 4 tablespoons chive and onion cream cheese,1 clove of garlic, fresh dill for garnish

Wash and peel the potatoes. If you enjoy your mashed potatoes with skins, I suggest you use the small red potatoes. I prefer mine with no skins. Next cut each potato in 4 pieces.

Fill a pot with cold water, add the potatoes and set the fire to medium high. Add salt.

Let the potatoes cook until soft. The way I check if my potatoes are ready is with a wooden spoon. If the spoon easily breaks through the potato, then I consider the potatoes ready. I always suggest to give the potatoes time to cook to avoid the chunks of hard and uncooked potato in the mashed potatoes.

When the potatoes are cooked, drain the water. Add 2 tablespoons of butter, a pinch of salt and pepper while the potatoes are still hot.

Next add 1/2 cup of cream. I usually use light cream but on Thanksgiving day I only had heavy cream and so I used that. If you prefer milk, you could use that instead of cream but I personally enjoy them with cream more. If 1/2 cup, does not seem enough, add another 1/4-1/2 cup. Just make sure that it doesn’t become a potato soup.

Next add 4 tablespoons of onion and chive cream cheese. Some people prefer to add herb Boursin cheese but I advise to try it at least once with onion and chive cream cheese. Very good and not as expensive as the French version of cream cheese.

Last but not least, add minced garlic and mash together. Please do not use an electric mixer or any other high tech appliances. It really ruins the traditional taste and texture of mashed potatoes.

After you’re done serve in a bowl and garnish with fresh dill.

Enjoy!

1 Comment

Filed under Side Dish, Vegetarian

One response to “Cream Cheese Mashed Potatoes

  1. Pingback: Bangers and Mash with Guinness Onion Gravy « Recipes of a Cheating Cook

Leave a Reply

