Mushroom “Julien” and a few updates

So recently I have been looking at a lot of blogs for my internship. This gave me a fabulous opportunity to find some pretty incredible blogs. The two things that I have noticed is that most good blogs are updated daily and have a certain style to them. The blogs that I really liked had a very rustic and vintage feel to them but since the style of my cooking food is quite modern I have realized that I will need to think of something else. With the help of my fabulous interior designer aka my roommate, in the next few weeks I will be trying to change a few things on my blog. I am hoping to buy some new fun dinnerware and just put more time and effort into the photos I take. Also I will be trying to update my blog at least three times a week (daily just seems a little too of an unrealistic promise for me). So come back to see some changes and hopefully a significant improvement.

As for the recipe, today I made a Mushroom “Julien”. This is a dish that I used to ask my mum to do all the time.I don’t know where this name came from or how to describe it another way (maybe mushroom casserole?Not really sure) but it is absolutely delicious. This can be served as either an appetizer or as a side dish.

Ingredients: 8 oz mushrooms,1/2 medium white onion,1 cup heavy cream,2 tablespoons butter,1/2 cup grated cheese (I use Gouda),1/2 tablespoon flour, salt and pepper to season.

In a skillet,on medium high heat, melt 2 tablespoons of butter. Chop the onion and add to the pan.Saute for 5 minutes. Next chop the mushrooms and also add to the pan.

Saute for about 10 minutes or until the mushrooms are nicely browned. Next add 1/2 tablespoon of flour. Stir everything together.

Next add 1 cup of heavy cream and stir.

Add salt and pepper. Let all cook for 5 minutes or until cream begins to boil. Next pour the mixture into ovenproof ramekins (I had 5).

Sprinkle with grated cheese the top of each.

Place the ramekins into the oven and let stand until the cheese melts. Enjoy!

2 Comments

Filed under Appetizer, Russian, Side Dish, Vegetarian

2 responses to “Mushroom “Julien” and a few updates

  1. I’ve been reading through your website. You have some great posts on here, especially this one – I really liked it…nice post. Consider yourself bookmarked

Leave a Reply

