Buckwheat…Can you tell I am Russian?

“What’s with the bag of gravel?” Sean asked me when I pulled buckwheat out of the kitchen cupboard.”Buckwheat,” I answered hesitantly. “You are so Russian,” was the reply I got back. Do I have to even mention that Sean would not be convinced to even try it?

Russian or not, buckwheat is delicious. It can be found in many international and organic stores and it can be used in a variety of ways. In Russia, we typically have buckwheat either for breakfast (instead of porridge or oatmeal) or as a side dish to go with a main course.

The first time I made buckwheat for Sean, I had to heavily disguise it with mushrooms, onions and creamy mustard sauce as he refused to try it otherwise. Well after the first few spoonfuls, I could not get him to share some with me.

Ingredients: 1 cup buckwheat, 8 oz mushrooms, 1/2 onion, 1/2-1 cup of light cream, 1 tablespoon of dijon mustard, 1 tablespoon of olive oil, salt and pepper to season

To a boiling pot of water, add 1 cup (or 1 bag like in the picture) of buckwheat

Meanwhile the buckwheat is cooking, chop up the mushrooms and onion

Throw the onion and the mushrooms on a pan, with 1 tablespoon of olive oil, on medium heat and saute until the onions become golden.

Next drain the buckwheat and add to the onions and mushrooms. Add the cream.

Add 1 tablespoon of dijon mustard, and salt and pepper to season. Cook for 5-7 minutes and serve.

And it doesn’t even look like gravel

Leave a comment

Filed under Russian, Side Dish

Leave a Reply

