Food for thought,literally

I love books. Aside from being a literature junkie (Hemingway and Fitzgerald are my weapons of choice), I love cookbooks. The sticky pages, the stains from the years of use… that all constitutes a good cookbook in my library.I have recently finished “Kitchen Confidential” by Anthony Bourdain (yes, shame on me that I have not read it till now) and it was great. To quote my friend Emily, “Aside from being the only chain smoker I have ever considered sexy, Tony is sarcastic snark oozing without once losing that serious vibe that makes him so darn amazing”. Bing Bing, so true. His culinary tales are shocking and hysterical at the same time. I could not tear myself from this book.

I have also began devouring “Cleaving” by Julie Powell, the author of Julie & Julia. I have no much to say as I just started reading it but I was a fan of Julie & Julia (both book and movie). Powell’s style of writing is very vivid and yet easy to read.I heard both bad and great things about it and so I am keeping an open mind.

Next on my food reading list is the memoir “Lunch in Paris: A Love Story, with Recipes” by Elizabeth Bard. The plot sounds absolutely adorable and very Julia Childs like (a journalist goes to France to be with her french husband and in process learns and discovers the art of french cooking) and the recipes, which I managed to get a peak at while at Borders, look amazing. I am just waiting for it to come out in paperback so that I could buy it.

The other book that I am really excited to read is “Miss Dahl’s voluptuous delights” by Sophie Dahl. A former supermodel and Roald Dahl’s granddaughter, Sophie Dahl features her favorite recipes around the four seasons and the freshest ingredients along with personal stories and thoughts on food. With such an adorable cover photo and the cute pink background, yes I am going to judge this book by its cover.

These books…simply to drool for.

Leave a comment

Filed under Blah Blah

Leave a Reply

