Soup with Spinach and Chickpeas

A lot of us have the tendency to scream “No” when ingredients such as spinach and chickpeas pop up on a list of ingredients for a dish. Over assumption? Maybe it’s just me then, but when I see spinach tofu bean sprout salad something on the menu of a restaurant, I reject it immediately. What am I a rabbit? I just feel like I am pressured to eat healthy when I see something like that and so I get something extremely unhealthy and carnivorous. Can you tell that I am weird already? This soup, despite all my pre-conceived notions, is amazing. I did add some bacon to the soup to oppose all the healthy and vegetarian, but feel free to not add it if you are not a freak like me. Can you tell that I would be a terrible vegetarian?

Ingredients: 1 cup of chickpeas (soaked overnight), 32 oz beef stock (or vegetarian), 1 small onion, 4-5 cups fresh spinach, 6 strips of bacon (optional),1 tablespoon unsalted butter, italian seasoning,salt and pepper to season

To beef stock add the chickpeas. Cook on medium heat until the chickpeas are tender and cooked.

In the meantime add the bacon to a pan and cook until the bacon is crispy. Take the cooked bacon out of the pan (leaving the grease in) and place on a tissue for the excess fat to drip off. Chop the bacon into strips and add to the beef stock with chickpeas (do not add the bacon until the chickpeas are cooked).

Chop the onion and add to the bacon grease. Cook for 5 minutes or until the onion is slightly tender.

Add to the soup.

In a separate skillet, saute fresh spinach with butter for 2-3 minutes.

Add to the soup. Add salt, pepper and Italian Seasoning and cook for 5 more minutes.

Doesn’t this look amazing?

Leave a comment

Filed under Soup, Vegetarian

Leave a Reply

