Broccoli Soup

Boyfriend thinks that I make some mean soup. I tend to agree. I love soup and have thousands of recipes from many cookbooks and blogs as well as some (“the crazy if you dare” concoctions) from my own head. When Anna bought some frozen broccoli from Trader Joes this weekend, I knew that Broccoli Soup Puree was a must. While fresh broccoli is a better alternative,  frozen broccoli works just as well (I am not picky, you know?). Hulk food? Maybe. But oh so good.

Ingredients: 1/2 lb of frozen broccoli, 1 large carrot, 4 oz sour cream, 2 tablespoons cream,2 cups vegetable broth, 1 tablespoon olive oil, salt and pepper to season.

Begin by steaming the broccoli. I threw mine in boiling water for maybe 5 to 10 minutes to become tender (the less you steam the more vitamins you retain!).

Next grate the washed and peeled carrot. Saute in a pot with olive oil on medium heat for 5 minutes.

Add  broccoli to the pot and saute for 5 more minutes.

When the veggie are all nice and soft, add them to the blender. Top with the vegetable broth, sour cream, cream and salt and pepper.

Puree the mixture for a minute or until everything has blended into one smooth green mixture and return to the pot on medium heat.

Leave on the stove for 5 more minutes and then serve. Since, I am such a rebel, I topped my soup with croutons, cheddar cheese and goat cheese but just a sprinkle of any cheese will do. Enjoy!

2 Comments

Filed under Soup, Vegetarian

2 responses to “Broccoli Soup

  1. Alecia

    This looks delicious, must make

Leave a Reply

