Honey Chicken Pasta

Do you have one of these days when there is absolutely nothing in the fridge and yet you cannot force yourself to go to the grocery store? The story of my life! What makes things even sadder is that I have a giant grocery store down my building. So last Sunday I found myself scouting the last remains of food in the fridge. Ketchup? Ummm no.Moldy Cheese? Probably not? My Moleskine notebook that I misplaced a week ago? What?! Oh god this semester needs to end like right about now. Along with the expired and inedible I found frozen chicken, pasta and cream. With honey and soy sauce an always yes at our house, I turned to an old recipe that my mum sent me a while ago. I know that honey, soy sauce and cream might sound like a weird combination but really give it a try.

Ingredients: 4 Chicken legs (if you don’t want to use the legs, use any dark chicken meat), 2 tablespoon honey, 2 tablespoon soy sauce, 1/2 cup light cream, 1/2 lb pasta elbows, 1/2 tablespoon butter, 1 1/2 tablespoon of olive oil, 1 teaspoon flour, salt and pepper to season

Begin by boiling a large pot of water. Add the elbows and cook according to instructions on the box.

Add olive oil to a Dutch pan on medium heat. Next add the butter to the olive oil. Sounds weird? You are on the right track.

Next cut the chicken legs, careful to cut most of the meat of the bones. Discard the bones or throw back in the freezer to make chicken stock at a later time.

Add the chicken to the pan with butter and olive oil and sautee for 5 to 7 minutes. After the chicken cooks through, add the honey and the soy sauce. Sounds weird? Keep going.

Cook for another 5 to 7 minutes. Add the cooked pasta.

Next pour the cream and add the flour

Mix together and cook for the last 5 minutes.

Serve right away cus this is not the leftover pasta. It tastes delicious hot and straight from the pan. Wait does it mean I have to go to the grocery store tomorrow?

Leave a comment

Filed under Chicken, Main Course, Pasta

Leave a Reply

