Quinoa Asparagus Salad

Recently I read in a Glamour article that Asparagus is a belly friendly food. Apparently it is “Natural diuretic that helps get rid of water weight”. Obviously I jumped on the asparagus wagon and made this super healthy Tabasco & Asparagus Quinoa salad that I got from 101 Cookbooks.I used different amount of ingredients for the Tabasco butter because I didn’t want any extra for the side. I also changed a few things around as I didn’t have the pine nuts, adding some goat cheese and cilantro. It’s all up to you. It came out great! Talk about eating healthy.

Ingredients: 2 cups of quinoa (uncooked), 1 lb asparagus, 4 tablespoons unsalted butter (room temperature),2 teaspoons Dijon mustard, 15 drops Tabasco sauce, 1 lemon, 1/4 teaspoon salt,fresh bunch of cilantro, 1 tablespoon of goat cheese (per serving), pepper to season

Begin by cooking the quinoa according to the instructions on the package

Next start making the Tabasco butter. To a food processor (or in my case a blender) add the butter.

Whip the butter until it is light and fluffy. Add the mustard, Tabasco, salt and pepper. Mix together. Squeeze half a lemon and put the other half aside.

Next set a pot with water and salt on medium-high heat to come to a boil. Meanwhile take the asparagus and cut into 1-inch strips.

Throw the asparagus in the boiling water for 3-5 minutes. Cookbooks 101 advises to cook the asparagus for only a minute but I absolutely detest uncooked asparagus and so I usually cook it for longer. Drain the asparagus and throw into an ice bath if you are planning on having leftovers.

Next chop the cilantro

In a big pot, melt the tabasco butter. Add the quinoa, asparagus and parsley and stir. Squeeze the second half of the lemon and cook for 5 minutes. Serve with goat cheese.

2 Comments

Filed under Salad, Vegetarian

2 responses to “Quinoa Asparagus Salad

  1. Alecia

    I read the same article! I was pretty mad that they advised against eating popcorn though– popcorn is such a healthy snack!

  2. hilary

    YUM! I’m trying this soon, I love all of these things!

Leave a Reply

