Pork Chops with Paprika sauce

I am afraid of cooking red meat. I know it sounds silly but I just don’t eat enough of red meat to be an expert on how to cook it well. I mean I can cook ground meat just fine. It’s the steaks, the chops and the ribs that scare the chef out of me. Will I overcook it? Will I undercook it? Will it taste good? “Chicken please for me!” This time though for the boyfriend who courageously eats all my veggie dishes and “weird things”, I decided to try making pork chops. The simpler, the better is what I do when I have to cook red meat. These pork chops are super easy to make and you can always add an extra spoon of sauce if you need to disguise something.

Ingredients: 4 pork chops, 1/2 cup cream, 1/4 cup red wine, 1 tablespoon of paprika (also have a pinch of extra paprika to rub into the meat), salt and pepper to rub into the meat, vegetable oil for cooking the meat.

Heat a skillet with oil on medium heat

Rub a pinch of salt, paprika and pepper into the meat.When the oil is almost smoking (you can check by pouring a drop of water. If it hisses, the skillet is ready), add the meat. Cook on each side for around 7-10 minutes.

In a pan, on medium heat, add the cream and the wine

Add the paprika.

Let the sauce cook for 5 minutes. Once the meat is cooked, add 1/2 tablespoon of the liquid fat from the bottom of the skillet into the sauce. Whisk together.

Serve the pork chops with the sauce on top or on the side. Enjoy!

Leave a comment

Filed under Main Course, Meat

Leave a Reply

