Mussels in white wine sauce

So recently I have noticed how cheap mussels are in my grocery store.  I don’t know whether it’s the fact that seafood is expensive in restaurants or whether seafood is just generally expensive back home but I was really excited for the $2.99 per lb deal.

Like I said many times before, I don’t really eat a lot of fish or seafood. Maybe that’s what got the boyfriend nervous. “Have you ever made mussels? Are you sure you don’t need to look up the recipe? Are you sure you want only 2 tomatoes?” While this was my first time making mussels, my mum has taught me well. She too loves cooking and found this recipe on one of her favorite Russian blogs. Since then we have not made mussels in any other way.

Ingredients: 2 lb mussels (I always make 1 lb per person), 2 big tomatoes, 2 shallots, 2 cloves of garlic, 1 seeded red chili pepper, bunch of fresh parsley, 7 oz white wine, 1/4 cup olive oil, salt and pepper to season.

Begin by chopping he shallots

Add to a pan with olive oil. Next  slice the chili pepper and garlic. Add to the shallots.

Remove the tomato skins. I usually throw my tomatoes in a pot of boiling water for a minute so that the skin comes off real easy but its up to you. Roughly chop the tomatoes and add to the pan once the shallots become golden.

Cook for 7-10 minutes. Add the mussels, white wine, salt and pepper.

Cover and cook for 10 minutes. Sprinkle with parsley and serve hot.

Leave a comment

Filed under Seasonal

Leave a Reply

