Vegetable fritters with a salmon sour cream topping

I love vegetables. And not just the fresh ones that go into a salad (eve though I am a sucker for cucumbers and peppers) but I have an unhealthy (or is it?) obsession with zucchini, eggplant, broccoli and cauliflower. Anna cringes in horror when she sees me buy either one of those products. But since she’s gone home for the summers and I only have too cook for myself, I have been trying a lot different recipes that contain these veggies. Tonight I made zucchini/potato/carrot fritters with a salmon sour cream dip. If you are a zucchini eater like me, you will definetely enjoy this dish.

Ingredients: Vegetable Fritters-3 zucchinis, 2 potatoes, 2 carrots, 1/2 cup of flour, 3 eggs, teaspoon paprika, salt and pepper to season, oil for frying

Salmon Sour Cream Topping- 1 package of smoked salmon, 5 tablespoons of sour cream, 1/2 tablespoon horseradish, 2 green onion sprigs, salt to season

Begin by peeling all the vegetables. In a big bowl, begin grating the zucchinis.

Squeeze excess water from the zucchinis. Next grate the potatoes and the carrots into the same bowl.

Add the eggs, flour, paprika, salt and pepper into the bowl

Mix together. Set a pan to medium heat, add a thin layer of oil and wait for the pan to heat up. When the pan is hot, add a tablespoon or so of the vegetable batter and form into a desired shape. I like my vegetable fritters thin and so I spread them out.

Cook for 5 minutes on each side or until a brown crusts forms on each side. Meanwhile make the salmon sour cream topping.

To a blender or a food processor add the chopped green onions and the salmon.

Add the horseradish, sour cream and salt

Chop into a paste. Once the vegetable fritters are cooked, add the salmon sour cream on top. Enjoy!

Leave a comment

Filed under Fish, Vegetarian

Leave a Reply

