Pea Obsession

A few months ago I looked into my friend Thalia’s freezer to find at least 10 bags of frozen peas. “What’s up with the peas?” I had to ask. “I like peas,” was the adorable panda answer. “10 bags?” I pushed. “I have this irrational fear that they are going to run out of peas one day,” Thalia admitted. A pea obsession, I concluded in my head.

I guess we all have foods that we can eat every moment of every day. While for me it is not peas, it is definitely cheese. I can eat any cheese (no matter how smelly, hard, soft, green it is) at any time of the day in unreasonable quantaties. But back to our green friends. When I saw this “chunky pea hummus” recipe on Smitten Kitchen, I came to the conclusion that this pea deliciousness is what Thalia would be if she was a food. I eliminated the scallions and pita bread from the recipe and opted for more of a pea side dish than dip.

Yesterday I went out with Thalia. “I ran out of peas!Can you believe it?!” Honestly I found it hard to. There were that many peas in that freezer! “I e-mailed my mum and asked her to buy me peas, peas and more peas. Enough peas to fill the entire car.” Maybe my obsession with cheese is not as strong as I though it was.

Ingredients: 1 1/2 cups frozen peas, 1/4 cup plain yogurt, 2 tablespoons tahini, 1 tablespoon lemon juice, 2 tablespoons water, 1/4 teaspoon ground cumin, 1/4 teaspoon paprika, 1/4 teaspoon salt

Begin by cooking the peas according to the instructions on the packet.

I simmered the peas in 1/4 cup of boiling water until the peas became tender. Mash them up a little bit leaving at least half of the peas whole.

In a small bowl, add yogurt, water, lemon juice and water

Add the spices

Whisk together until the sauce forms into one mixture

Mix the peas with the dressing and enjoy as a side dish or a dip.

Leave a comment

Filed under Appetizer, Side Dish, Vegetarian

Leave a Reply

