Lazy Lentils

 I’ve spoken to someone recently who does not understand why celery still exists in this world. It made me think, why does celery exist? It tastes unaturally crunchy, the threads get stuck in your teeth and it tastes like absolutely nothing . It sucks in soups, it doesn’t complemement the chicken wings with blue cheese and it definetely doesn’t make my favorite buffolo burrito from Boloco better (substitute the celery with cucumbers my friends). Like really, do you know a single person WHO LIKES celery? I definetely don’t.The only excuse that I came up with that allows this green monster to grow and hang around on farms and in supermarkets is that it can be used to make vegetable broth. If I have offended anyone with my hate for the harmless green bush, please give me a recipe where celery is the king. I will try it right away!In this lentil soup, feel free to use celery but I refuse to.

On another note, lentil is one of my favorite comfort soups and my friend Thalia’s most passionate food lover. I know that typically comfort soup would be potato and bacon but lentil is my weapon of choice. And since Kenny has left Top Chef, I needed a little comforting.

Ingredients: 3 diced carrots (or 2 carrots and 2 celery sticks),1/2 diced onion, 16 oz can diced tomatoes, 32 oz chicken stock, grated parmigiano, 2 minced garlic cloves, 1 lb dried lentils, 2 tablespoons olive oil, 1/2 teaspoon ground cumin, salt and pepper to season

Begin by adding olive oil to a Dutch Pan on medium heat. Drop the carrots and the onions.

Cook for 5-7 minutes or until the vegetables soften. Add salt, pepper, cumin and minced garlic.

Drop the tomatoes and cook for another 6-8 minutes

Add the lentils. I usually wash them with cold water before adding to food.

Pour the chicken stock and stir to cover the lentils. Cook for 30 minutes or until the lentils soften and the soup thickens.

When ready top the soup with cheese and enjoy.

Leave a comment

Filed under Soup, Vegetarian

Leave a Reply

