Beet Obsession

Recently I have developed an obsession with beets. I don’t know if it’s temporary (sorry beets I don’t know if I can be committed right now), seasonal (the seasons come and go) or here to stay (but let’s not rush into anything) but I have already made this delicious beet hummus, a yogurt beet salad and beet soup. While beets might not seem like the ordinary food that one would pick to be obsessed with, I urge you all to try this genius recipe from not without salt. The beets give this tender and almost sweet taste that you can’t get from any other vegetable. Even the boyfriend who hates all healthy and who pretends to cringe at the mere mention of the word beets, was caught sneaking the beet hummus while I was working on the beet salad with my back to him.

Ingredients: 3 medium beets, 2 tablespoons tahini, 1/4 cup lemon juice, 1 clove chopped garlic, 1/4 cup olive, salt to season

Preheat oven to 375. Wrap whole beets in foil and make cuts all around the beet. This allows the beets to cook more evenly.

Cook the beets for 30 to 40 minutes or until a knife inserts easily. Let the beets cool and peel clean. Next grate the beets (you can cut the beets into chunks but I was making a beet salad so I just grated all my beets).

Throw the beets into a food processor or a blender and add the lemon juice, garlic and tahini.

Top with olive oil and blend until smooth. Delicious with toasted pita chips.

Leave a comment

Filed under Appetizer, Vegetarian

Leave a Reply

