Comfort in the time of rain

I always find myself returning to Rachel Ray in the time of rain. To me Rachel Ray has the ultimate comforting recipes. I know that some people might gasp to themselves and say, “But what Paula Deen?And ” No matter how many people call Rachel Ray commercial, she is my favorite tv chef. And no amounts of butter will make me change my mind. Well unless it’s Paula Deen’s pulled pork sandwich or Kentucky pie.

This time when I came home soaked and shivering from the Boston rain and wind, this burrito burger recipe caught my eye. It is so hearty with the rice and beans and yet so flavorful with all the different spices that I think that it might have to become my all time comfort food favorite. Next time though I am going to add some fresh cilantro to the avocado dip that goes 0n top.

Ingredients: 1 lb ground turkey (I used ground chicken instead), 1 cup white or brown rice, 1 (15 oz) can of black beans washed and rinsed (I am not a fan of pinto beans thus the change), 3 teaspoons chili powder, 1 1/2 teaspoons cumin, 1 1/2 teaspoons coriander, 1 tablespoon grilled seasoning, 1 avocado, 1 clove grated garlic, 1 lime zested and juiced, 1/2 red onion diced, 1 plum tomato diced, 1/2 cup sour cream, bunch of fresh cilantro chopped, 6 flour tortillas (I used tortillas instead of buns), oil for frying

Begin by adding ground meat, rice and beans to a bowl

Add the spices

Mix together and form patties. Rachel Ray made 4 but I ended up making 6. It could possibly be because I used a little over a cup of rice.

Heat oil in a skillet on medium-high heat. Cook patties 7 to 8 minutes on each side. While the patties cook combine avocado, garlic, lime zest and juice.

Add the tomato, red onion and cilantro. Roughly mash and mix with sour cream

Warm the tortillas in the microwave. Add the patties and top with avocado sour cream goodiness. Enjoy

Leave a comment

Filed under Meat

Leave a Reply

