Busy week makes for a quick recipe and a post in a bus

There are three ways that you can tell that I had a very busy week. 1)I do not go to the gym (I go to the gym even if I am dying in bed with fever) 2) I don’t read new month’s magazines (Elle? Vogue? Glamour? Haven’t even opened one!!!) 3)I don’t cook or post recipes. I had 2 midterms this week, a project, presentation and a ton of homework. Even now, I am writing this post en route to New York since I don’t know when I’ll get a chance to post something before Sunday. This recipe is a little basic (and that’s an understatement) but sometimes we all need something simple to make for dinner. Eggplant Bolognese? Eggplant Casserole? You decide while I catch up on some sleep, yoga and reading.

Ingredients: 2 small eggplants or 1 big one cut in circles, 1 lb ground beef, 2 cups of your favorite meat sauce, 1/2 tablespoon minced garlic, 2 cups shredded mozzarella, grilled seasoning, olive oil for drizzling, salt to season

Begin by preheating the oven to 350. Lay the eggplant on a baking sheets and drizzle with olive oil and sprinkle with salt and grilled seasoning. Roast for 10-15 minutes. Don’t turn the oven off.

In a skillet on medium heat, saute the beef and the garlic until the meat fully cooks.

To a lasagna pan or any other baking plate, add half the amount of roasted eggplant. Top with half the ground beef and meat sauce.

Next repeat the process by adding another layer of eggplant on top of the sauce

Top with the remaining meat and sauce and cover with cheese

Place in the oven and bake for 20 minutes or until the cheese starts browning.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Main Course, Meat

Leave a Reply

