Chicken Curry From a Lying Cook

So I apparently I have lied about posting something last week. Not apparently. I have and I feel really bad. Have I told you that these two weeks have been the worst 2 weeks of my life? Me and Anna have literally been living of leftovers of the freezer’s past (like past of the last 2 years) and candy that has expired in May 2009. It’s fine. We are not the ones to complain. This recipe has been scraped from the very few ingredients that I had in the house. It is nevertheless delicious.

Ingredients: 1 lb boneless chicken thighs (I only had chicken breasts so that worked too) cut into desirable chunks, 1/2 chopped small red chili pepper, 1  diced green bell pepper, 1 diced shallot, 1 can of drained baby corn, 8oz Thai coconut milk lite, 1 tablespoon of minced garlic, 1 tablespoon curry, 1 tablespoon turmeric, 2 tablespoons vegetable or olive oil, salt and pepper to season

Begin by heating oil in a heavy bottom pan. Add the onions and red chili pepper. Saute until the shallots golden for about 5  minutes and then add the garlic.

Cook for another 2 minutes and add the chicken.

Cook until the chicken browns and is fully cooked. Add the green pepper and cook for a few minutes until it begins to just slightly soften. Pour in the coconut milk.

Add the spices, salt and pepper. Add more turmeric and curry powder if desired. I think I added an extra tablespoon of each.

Mix together and simmer the curry for 30 minutes. Drop in the baby corn and cook for another 2 before serving.

Serve hot with rice

2 Comments

Filed under Chicken, International Food

2 responses to “Chicken Curry From a Lying Cook

  1. I normally do not eat curry anything but I thought this was a very cool recipe.

Leave a Reply

