Blueberry Pie

So I think I might be done with all the work that needed to be done. Or at least done enough to make a cranberry/blueberry pie and celebrate. Pie crust pre made. Obviously. I mean who would I be kidding? I fool myself saying that I can’t bake because I do not own a stand mixer but recently people have been pointing out that is a false statement. That you can’t bake without a stand mixer that is not that I can bake. I found this recipe in bon appetit magazine and it looked simple enough. And the only pies I make are simple. For all the bakers out there, don’t judge. It came out delicious.

Ingredients: 1 pie crust (if you make your own, more power to you), 14 oz fresh or frozen cranberries(I used fresh), 14 oz fresh or frozen blueberries (I used frozen), 2 1/4 cups of sugar, 3 tablespoons corn starch, 2 cinnamon sticks, 1 tablespoon lemon juice, 1/2 teaspoon lemon zest

Add the cranberries and blueberries to a saucepan on medium heat

Add the remaining ingredients

Mix and cook the filling until the mixture thickens and the berries begin to pop for about 15 to 20 minutes, stirring occasionally. When the mixture comes to a boil, take off heat and transfer to a glass dish. Let the filling cool in the fridge anywhere from an hour to 1 day. When the filling is cooled, remove the cinnamon sticks and pour the filling into the pie crust.

Cover the pie with a top layer of crust and seal together

Place in a 350 preheated oven and bake until the crust is golden brown for about an hour.

Enjoy

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Dessert

Leave a Reply

