On airports and flying

I hate flying. I am completely aerophobic and just get really restless being in one cramped position for long hours. It does not help that I have to fly for 10 hours to get home. In addition to the time it takes for the layovers, it takes me anywhere from 16 to 24 hours.

This time around my flight was smooth with no delays which was surprising since Boston in time of snow is no happy place to fly out of. Last year I got stuck in the airport for 6 hours waiting for my flight to New York where I usually connect to go home. My room mate though, who was connecting in London to get home, got delayed home by 2 DAYS!

Having gotten home, jet lagged (2 days later I still wake up at 5:30 am) and tired, I am in need of some comfort food. There are three camps of pizza lovers. The ones who like the delivery kind, the ones who like completely homemade and the ones who like semi-homemade pizza. No one likes the frozen kind. Don’t be that guy. I am in the third camp where I cannot make my own pizza dough but enjoy baking my own pizza.

Ingredients: Pizza dough, 4 oz baby bello mushrooms, 4 oz cherry tomatoes halved, 1 1/2 cups of your favorite tomato sauce, 3 spicy sausages, 1 1/2 cups shredded cheddar cheese, 1 cup shredded Parmesan cheese, 2 tablespoons olive oil, salt and pepper to season

Preheat oven to 350. Add mushrooms to a cookie sheet. Drizzle mushrooms with olive oil(tablespoon) and sprinkle with salt and pepper or grilled seasoning. Roast the mushrooms for 15 minutes. In the meantime roll out the pizza dough. Spray another cookie sheet with non-stick cooking spray. I used to bake pizzas right on the oven rack until this incident. So now I just use a cookie sheet. Spread the tomato sauce over the dough.

Add the shredded cheeses

In a pan, on medium heat, with 1 tablespoon of olive oil cook sausage until it browns on all sides.

This should take around 15 to 20 minutes. Dice the sausage. Add the sausage and tomatoes to the dough. Sprinkle with salt and pepper.

Bake in the oven until the crust becomes golden and the cheese melt. Serve hot.

Leave a comment

Filed under Meat, Pizza

Leave a Reply

