Cookie Cake

I rarely bake cookies. And it’s not because I am not great at baking (surprise, surprise I can actually bake cookies and not burn the kitchen or feel lesser of a human being) but because I get irritated making individual little cookies and rolling out the batter or scooping it into small balls. I found this recipe on sophistimom through tastespotting.com and had to absolutely try it. I think this is how I will be making all my cookies from now on. In one big pan.

Ingredients: 1 cup granulated sugar (I ran out of brown sugar), 1 cup chocolate chips, 1 1/2 cup flour, 1/2 teaspoon baking soda, 1 teaspoon vanilla extract, 1/4 teaspoon salt, 1 stick butter, 1 egg

Preheat oven to 350. In a skillet (preferably cast iron which I did not have), melt the butter

Add sugar and vanilla and stir in. Remove from heat.

Add the egg and whisk with a fork

Add flour, baking soda and salt and carefully stir together until the mixture becomes smooth and well blended

Add the chocolate chips and mix together

Transfer the mixture to an oven proof pan (if you are not using a cast iron skillet) and bake for 10 to 15 minutes or until corners start to become golden. Enjoy on its own or topped with ice cream and toppings.

Leave a comment

Filed under Dessert

Leave a Reply

