My First Meatball Sub

Recently watching something on Food Network, I realized that I had never had a meatball sub. I might seem weird but I never had this desire to order one at a sandwich store. I am more of a cold sandwich kind of girl. This realization prompted me to cook my own version of a meatball sub that I knew I would enjoy. They boyfriend was puzzled by the presence of rice in the meatballs and the cream in the sauce but again I put cream and rice in everything. So feel free to neglect the bread and cheese and just use this as a baked meatballs recipe. It is delicious!

Ingredients: 1lb ground beef and pork (o.5 lb of each), 2 cups cooked rice, 1 onion chopped, 1 egg, 14.5 oz canned diced tomatoes, 2 grated carrots, 2 tablespoons sour cream, 2 tablespoons light cream, 1 tablespoon olive oil, salt, pepper and italian seasonings to taste.

Preheat oven to 400. Begin by adding the meat, 1/2 the onion, rice, egg, salt, italian seasoning and pepper to a bowl

Add sour cream and mix together. Form the meatballs and set aside in a baking dish.

For the sauce, saute the remaining onion and carrots in a skillet with olive oil. Cook until the onions turn golden.

Add the tomatoes and cook for another 5 minutes

Add the vegetables, salt and pepper to the blender and top with cream

Puree the mixture until smooth. Spread the sauce over the meatballs

Bake for 30 minutes. Add to toasted bread and cover with cheese.

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Meat, Sandwich

Leave a Reply

