A successful attempt at cooking Indian

I never thought that I could make something like this. When I first saw the long list of recipe, I was like petrified but reassured by Baked Bree‘s post, I decided to try it. Oh my god it’s amazing. Absolutely delicious and tasted authentically Indian. A must try for those who like Indian food or chicken tikka masala. For some unknown to me reason, my huge grocery store did not have any cardamon even though there are like 6 spice brands. The only cardamom I found was like $20 and I was not about to spend that on a spice. Is there another name for cardamom? Or is it usually rare and expensive? Since Baked Bree’s photographs are so amazing, I did not even try to photograph all the steps. You should look at her post to see all the step by step photos. I am kind of embarrassed of mine after comparing.

Ingredients: 1 onion chopped, 2 tablespoons freshly grated ginger, 2 cloves minced garlic, 1 jalapeno, seeded and minced, 1 tablespoon olive oil, 2 teaspoons garam masala, 1 teaspoon chili powder, 1 teaspoon ground cardamom (like I mentioned above I did not have many), 1/2 teaspoon ground coriander, 1 (6-ounce) can tomato paste, 2 1/2 cups chicken broth, 1/2 cup heavy cream, 2 bay leaves, 1 1/2 pounds boneless, skinless chicken breast cut into small cubes, 1/2 teaspoon freshly grated pepper, 1 teaspoon salt, 1/4 cup butter, lime wedges (I did not use any), chopped cilantro, cooked Basmati rice

Saute the onion, ginger, jalapeno and garlic in olive oil in a pan on medium heat. Cook for 5 minutes or until slightly browned/golden. Add the garam masala, chili powder and cardamon and stir together. Cook for a few minutes. Add the contents of the pan into a food processor or blender. Top with tomato paste and chicken broth and process until smooth. Pour the sauce back into the pan and add bay leaves and cream. Stir together and let come the mixture to a boil. Simmer until sauce reduces to about 3 cups. Pour the mixture into a bowl and leave aside. Season chicken with salt and pepper. Add 1 tablespoon of butter and chicken to a pan and cook until the chicken becomes opaque. Add the sauce back to the pan and cook until the chicken is cooked through. Add the remaining butter and allow to melt. Spoon the chicken over the rice and garnish with cilantro and lime.

Leave a comment

Filed under Chicken, International Food, Main Course

Leave a Reply

